Smart Start of Brunswick County

Board of Directors

Smart Start of Brunswick County’s Board of Directors and working committee members include parents, early childhood professionals, representatives from the school systems, human service agencies, service organizations, local businesses, and government. Each member is committed to ensuring the financial and programmatic integrity of our Local Partnership.

2021-2022 Officers and Executive Committee

Darius Bratsafolis, President
Karen Fleischhauer, Vice President 
Heather Coley, Secretary
Kim Murphy, Treasurer      


Stephen Burns, Business/Community Member
Beth Caragol, Services Representative
Catherine Lytch, Government
Jennifer Damin, Government
Angela Jahr, Business/Community Member
Jim Nelson. Services Representative
Kathy Robson, Services Representative
Amanda Taylor, Services Representative
Resea Willis, Business/Community Member
Kathleen Yonce, Business/Community Member


2021-2022 Tentative Board Meeting Schedule

  • Thursday, August 5th
  • Thursday, October 7th
  • Thursday, December 2nd
  • Thursday, February 3rd
  • Thursday, April 7th
  • Thursday, June 2nd

*Meetings are held at 8:30am at the SSBC office (5140 Sellers St., Shallotte, NC). Zoom options will be available 

If you are interested in joining our Board of Directors or serving as an ad-hoc member on one of our committees, please contact Krista Campana